top of page
  • Jimmy Ray

Cold Black Devil Ground


Another "gothic" horror piece from my vast collection. I have performed this one LIVE on internet radio but never got around to recording it. Hmmm, I may have to still do that.


COLD BLACK DEVIL GROUND


I sat on the porch with my hound dog
and my thoughts went around and around
'bout the secret that I buried deep
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
Me and her got married in June
and my world turned upside-down
couldn't know our love would fail and die
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
For she promised her heart to me
and the lies went around and around
but she gave all to William Jake
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
Done heard 'em ruttin in the old wood shed
truly the most horrible sound
so I grabbed my axe that was buried deep
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
He was grunting as he thrust into her
and my heart began to pound
I swung that blade and went to hell
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
Couple more chops, maybe two or three
and the blood sprayed all around
he screamed like a bitch that just crawled out
of the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
I grabbed her by her golden hair
and she made a strangled sound
threw her ass in the well where snakes hide out
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
I jumped in right after her
and turned her face around
cried tears of love and hate and joy
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
 
Gouged her eyes, she clawed at mine
and the bubbles went around and around
fightin' tooth and nail at the bottom of a well
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
Buried them both in my backyard
soon as the sun went down
made friends with the devil in the potter's soil
in the cold black devil ground.
 
 
 
 
Ten years have passed since that fateful day
and I've thought a lot about
the sins I made that are buried deep    
In the cold...black devil          
ground.
 
 
 
 
copyright 2010,
J Raymond Davis
28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page